International Institute

The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution

The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman’s Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn’s The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine’s gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin’s purges.

The Politics of Secularism: Religion, Diversity, and Institutional Change in France and Turkey

Discussions of modernity—or alternative and multiple modernities—often hinge on the question of secularism, especially how it travels outside its original European context. Too often, attempts to answer this question either imagine a universal model derived from the history of Western Europe, which neglects the experience of much of the world, or emphasize a local, non-European context that limits the potential for comparison.

Congressman Ted Lieu on the Restricting First Use of Nuclear Weapons Act of 2017

ABOUT THE TALK

Congressman Ted Lieu will discuss the legislation that he introduced on January 24, 2017 with Senator Edward J. Markey (D - Mass), the Restricting First Use of Nuclear Weapons Act of 2017. This legislation would prohibit the President from launching a nuclear first strike without a declaration of war by Congress.

Upon introduction of this legislation, Mr. Lieu issued the following statement:

Israel's Judiciary Under Threat

Professor Menachem Hofnung will share insight into how Israel's judiciary has changed over time, attempts to limit its role in government, and its position in Israeli politics.

Does the Judiciary really constitutes a third independent branch of government in Israel? This question arises when one witnesses the continuous attempts to change the existing balance of power and limit the court from applying judicial doctrines and legal standards to executive and parliamentary decisions.

"Give Work" book talk with author Leila Janah

ABOUT THE BOOK

Want to end poverty for good? Samasource founder and entrepreneur Leila Janah has the solution—give work, not aid.

“Living-wage digital work targeted to the world’s poorest people is a transformational force for good. Leila’s pioneering work in this realm is as instructive as it is inspiring. An essential read!” — Reid Hoffman, cofounder of LinkedIn; coauthor of The Alliance: Managing Talent in the Networked Age

Looking Back, Looking Forward: 100 Years of the Arab-Israeli Conflict

The half-day conference co-sponsored by the Y&S Nazarian Center and organized by Brandeis University's Crown Center for Middle East Studies will feature leading scholars and public figures who will consider the future of Israel and Palestine.

NOTE: The event will be held at Brandeis University's Massachusetts campus, but can be viewed by visiting this page the day of the conference. The hours listed are Pacific Standard Time.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - International Institute