Inequality

The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution

The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman’s Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn’s The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine’s gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin’s purges.

Promised Land Film Screening and Panel

A special screening of the documentary, Promised Land with a panel discussion afterwards.

Promised Land is an award-winning social justice documentary that follows two tribes in the Pacific Northwest: the Duwamish and the Chinook, as they fight for the restoration of treaty rights they've long been denied. In following their story, the film examines a larger problem in the way that the government and society still looks at tribal sovereignty.

Panelists:

Trump's Violent Reassertion of White Supremacy, the Threat of Genocide, and What Must Be Done, NOW!

THE TRUMP/PENCE regime is consolidating a fascist program, unleashing Nazi stormtroopers, that will mean unimaginable horrors for humanity and, as part that, will bring down a reign of terror, on top of centuries of savage oppression of Black people. Carl Dix, drawing on the new synthesis of communism developed by Bob Avakian, will speak to how this regime was spawned by the system of capitalism/imperialism and why everybody must throw in to drive it out of office NOW, as part of getting ready for revolution!

QGrad 2017, Radical Imaginaries: Scholar-Activism Dismantling the Politics of Hate

UCLA’s QGrad is the oldest, interdisciplinary queer research conference in the United States. In celebration of the 20th anniversary of LGBTQ Studies at UCLA, the 2017 QGrad Conference will focus on how LGBTQ Studies and trans and queer art and activism have transformed the world in the last 20 years. How have undocumented, Black and Brown, Indigenous, Afro-Latinx, Muslim, Fat, Disabled, incarcerated, Transgender and Gender Non-conforming communities/scholar- activists impacted LGBTQ studies?

Democratizing Research Access: Overcoming Exclusion from Well-Resourced University Research Libraries

For a growing number of scholars, gaining access to adequate library resources–both books and digital– has become increasingly challenging. The problem of unequal research access is exacerbating larger problems of inequity across academia, by creating barriers for those working outside of large, well-resourced universities. This group includes independent scholars, faculty at under-resourced institutions, and others occupying positions of “career diversity,” a contingent likely to expand in the coming years.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Inequality