Division of Social Sciences

Software Carpentry: R Workshop

Software Carpentry aims to help researchers get their work done in less time and with less pain by teaching them basic research computing skills. This hands-on workshop will cover basic concepts and tools, including program design, version control, data management, and task automation. Participants will be encouraged to help one another and to apply what they have learned to their own research problems.

For more information on what we teach and why, please see our paper "Best Practices for Scientific Computing".

Dante and Modernity

In a famous passage of Survival in Auschwitz, the memoir that emerged from his harrowing experience in the concentration camp, Primo Levi strives to recall from his memory Canto 26 of Dante’s Inferno – a canto that narrates the mad flight and tragic fall of the Greek hero Ulysses.

The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution

The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman’s Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn’s The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine’s gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin’s purges.

The Politics of Secularism: Religion, Diversity, and Institutional Change in France and Turkey

Discussions of modernity—or alternative and multiple modernities—often hinge on the question of secularism, especially how it travels outside its original European context. Too often, attempts to answer this question either imagine a universal model derived from the history of Western Europe, which neglects the experience of much of the world, or emphasize a local, non-European context that limits the potential for comparison.

Congressman Ted Lieu on the Restricting First Use of Nuclear Weapons Act of 2017

ABOUT THE TALK

Congressman Ted Lieu will discuss the legislation that he introduced on January 24, 2017 with Senator Edward J. Markey (D - Mass), the Restricting First Use of Nuclear Weapons Act of 2017. This legislation would prohibit the President from launching a nuclear first strike without a declaration of war by Congress.

Upon introduction of this legislation, Mr. Lieu issued the following statement:

Israel's Judiciary Under Threat

Professor Menachem Hofnung will share insight into how Israel's judiciary has changed over time, attempts to limit its role in government, and its position in Israeli politics.

Does the Judiciary really constitutes a third independent branch of government in Israel? This question arises when one witnesses the continuous attempts to change the existing balance of power and limit the court from applying judicial doctrines and legal standards to executive and parliamentary decisions.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Division of Social Sciences